GOVERNMENT: Wrap-up of state legislative and regulatory news

California Gov. Edmund Brown has signed into law a new requirement (AB 1215) that dealers must label salvaged vehicles with a red warning sticker after obtaining vehicle histories through the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) for every vehicle they are selling.
California Bill Part 1
He has also signed into law an amendment to the Automotive Repair Act that states that any shop that prepares a written estimate that includes the replacement of a deployed airbag that then fails to restore the airbag is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a $5,000 fine, one-year in jail, or both.
California Bill Part 2
Proposed legislation (HB 4832) in Michigan that would open salvage pools to more out-of-state buyers.
California Bill Part 3
Uninsured drivers in Illinois beginning in January will face stiffer penalties – including fines of up to $2,500 – for repeat offenses under a law enacted there this year.
And a representative of the Automotive Service Council of Kentucky said his group expects to make a third attempt next year to push for consumer notification legislation in that state. The association-backed bill, which narrowly missed making it through the legislative process this year and last, would require insurers to include notification of a consumer’s right to select a repair shop on the bottom of printed estimates, and to tell the consumer of that right prior to explaining any direct repair program.